A Winter’s Night at the Four Seasons of Seattle

My first overnight stay at a Four Seasons hotel was by far the most memorable and luxurious hotel experience in my 30-plus years of travel.

After having walked a few blocks from the nearby Westlake train station, I was greeted by a valet at the front door of the Four Seasons Hotel of Seattle. I entered the lobby, which is designed to echo a riverbank. It features walls constructed of basalt, which reminds visitors of the region’s volcanic landmarks – Mount Rainier and Mount St. Helens.

I found the check-in desk, where again I was greeted warmly. My reservation said I was confirmed for a Deluxe Bay View room, and the employee at the desk informed me that I had been upgraded to a corner room. This being my first stay at the hotel, I wasn’t aware of the awesomeness that I was about to experience.

Image

My room featured a panoramic western-facing view of Elliott Bay and Puget Sound! I arrived about an hour before sunset, which gave me time to check out the room and get settled in. See that big TV there? I found the room so restful, I never even turned it on!

Before heading out for the evening with friends, we stopped by the fourth floor pool deck to view the sunset. The pool deck has Seattle’s only outdoor infinity-edge swimming pool, which appears to empty directly into the Bay. The rooftop terrace bar also has a fireplace and whirlpool. This is the view of the sunset which we were treated to from the Pool Deck that evening:

Image

As you visit the pool, you’ll see the 24-hour Fitness Center, which offers a variety of cardio and weight training options. Guests can even choose to work out with an on-site personal trainer. For the ultimate relaxation experience, guests can visit the 6,000 square foot Spa at Four Seasons, which offers a host of treatments while overlooking the bay.

The bathroom offered luxuries not often seen in my travel, which is usually on a fairly tight budget governed by expense reports. It featured a deep soaking tub and a separate walk-in shower that had a detachable head and a rain shower head . I took advantage of both tun and shower, and enjoyed watching the TV which was built into the bathroom mirror. I found the fragrant L’occitane bath products to be invigorating.

Perhaps because I’m a native Texan, when I stay in hotels, I usually find the bedding too heavy or cumbersome. So, what I like to do is crank the air conditioner way down to about 62 degrees, pull the covers over me and just hibernate in my downy cave of pillows and blankets. The soft yet supportive bed gave me one of my best night’s sleep in recent memory – but that may also have something to do with the luxury of the bathroom.

This room was seriously plush, and if I had to suggest one improvement, it would be for the one thing that should always be plush – the toilet paper. It was thin and fragile, like you’d find in a public restroom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just off the downstairs lobby you’ll find ART Restaurant. I had the pleasure of dining here last summer, and I must say the combination of attentive service, food quality and ambiance made it one of my top dining experiences. I highly recommend this restaurant whether you are a hotel guest or just visiting the area.

In addition to the incredible service and upscale luxury at the Four Seasons of Seattle, one of the greatest features of the property is its location adjacent to Seattle’s waterfront, a block over from the famous Pike Place Market. It is easily accessible from local freeways. If you’re arriving at Seattle-Tacoma Airport, the best option to get downtown from the airport is Sound Transit’s Central Link Light Rail. For under $3.00 per person, you can ride from the airport downtown in 39 minutes – saving you the cost of a rental car and pricey downtown parking. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Westlake rail station. Across the street from the Four Seasons, you will find the Seattle Art Museum, which was hosting a Paul Gaugin exhibit during my stay. Within a 5-minute walk of the hotel, you can also find Benaroya Hall – home of the Seattle Symphony and the Seattle Aquarium.

Four Seasons Seattle |  99 Union Street, Seattle, WA 98101

Telephone: 1 (206) 749-7000

http://www.fourseasons.com

*note:  My accommodations were provided by the Four Seasons of Seattle, but all thoughts, opinions and photographs are by this author.

Published by

Paul Thompson

Highly passionate about all things related to aviation! I combine my knowledge of the aircraft manufacturing and airline industry to provide a detailed and first-person point of view. I have worked on unique stories with airlines and companies including American Airlines, British Airways, Goodyear, Honeywell, jetBlue, Lufthansa, Qatar Airways, Red Bull Air Racing, Southwest Airlines, and the U.S. Navy.

Leave a Reply

